In Montana, the Legislature
has declared that driving
IS a privilege, not a right.

Go online to

doj.mt.gov/driving

Montana Department of Justice — Motor Vehicle Division

For more information, email the MVD: mvd@mt.gov

Information from the Montana Department of Transportation
State Highway Traffic Safety is available online:
www.mdt.mt.gov/safety/impaired.shtml

. As the driver, the choice is yours.
BOTTOM LINE: Obey the law or face the consequences.

Anyone who drives on
public roads is required to
have a valid Montana

Driving.in Montana

A driver license is a privilege. If
you break traffic laws, your
driving privilege can be

driver license. suspended, revoked, or canceled.

Law enforcement, government
agencies, and the courts work
together to fulfill their duty to
make Montana roadways safer.

Driving in Montana:
Your Privilege, Our Duty, Your Choice

Motor Vehicle Division
Safety o E fficiency o Dependability

Consequences of Impaired Driving

>

Court Requirements

Sentencing Requirements
¢ Jail time

e Fines

e Substance abuse treatment

» Driver License Consequences

e 1st offense: 6 month suspension
e 2nd+ offense: 1 year suspension

e Mandatory waiting periods:
45 or 90 days

Added Provisions
e No drinking

e 24/7

e SCRAM monitoring device
e Ignition interlock

Compliance with A-C-T
A — Assessment
C - Course (Prime for Life)
T — Treatment

» Other Impacts

e Substance abuse treatment
e Evaluation
e Monitoring

¢ Increased motor vehicle
liability insurance
premiums

e Monitored driver record
e Employment restrictions
¢ 10 conviction points on

MCA 61-8-402 | MCA 61-8-465 | MCA 44-4-1205 | MCA 61-5-231

Impaired Driving: Alcohol, Marijuana, Other
Drugs Including Prescription Drugs

Montana has the resources to deal with repeat offenders.

Options are available to prosecutors and judges.

Search Warrants: Prior refusals ¢ Prior convictions ¢ Pending convictions

Aggravated DUI: Penalties increase dramatically for certain offenders.

Court-Approved Alcohol or Drug Detection Testing Programs:

24/7

The Montana 24/7 Sobriety Program includes twice-a-day

alcohol tests at a location designated by the Sheriff.

DUI Court

Courts can implement incentives and sanctions to help the convicted

driver complete treatment and end the criminal behavior of driving

under the influence.

MCA 61-8-411

Marijuana-Iimpaired Driving

Marijuana impairs reaction time,
coordination, and concentration - even if
the user doesn’t feel these effects.

e People who use marijuana and then drive
are significantly more likely to be in a crash.

Regular users experience a build-up of the drug
in their systems and must avoid driving at all.

Other chemicals - alcohol, prescription and

5 ng/ml

* 5 ng/ml of Delta-9-THC =
illegal to drive.

e With sufficient evidence of
impairment, you can be
convicted of DUI even if your
THC level is below 5 ng/ml.

MCA 61-8-401 | MCA 61-8-406

¢ Other alcohol or drug your driving record

: e $200 license reinstatement fee
detection program

illegal drugs, over-the-counter medications -
compound the effects of marijuana and critically impair your ability to drive.

e Travel restrictions

e Proof of ignition interlock to Canada

MONTANA

* Proof of high risk insurance

e Driver license restricted to
essential driving only

BOTTOM LINE: Even one conviction will take your license.

Blood Alcohol Concentration 0 . 040/0

You are breaking the law if you drive a commercial motor vehicle (CMV)
and your BAC is 0.04% or more.

For Commercial Drivers: 0.04% BAC = Unsafe Operation of a CMV

0 Montana Department of Justice

Motor Vehicle Division
Safety e Efficiency e Dependability

People on Montana’s marijuana registry can be cited for DUl and have their card revoked.

BOTTOM LINE: Don’t use and drive.

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Blood Alcohol Concentration 0 n 080/0

For Every Driver: 0.08% BAC = Unsafe Operation of a Vehicle

Blood Alcohol Concentration 0 - 020/0

You are breaking the law if you are under 21 and drive with any
measurable amount of alcohol in your system.

» 1st offense DUI/BAC = Driver
license consequences

> 2nd+ offense DUI/BAC = All of the BAC of 0.02% = Any measurable amount
1st offense consequences and

e 6 month driver license suspension » 1st offense 0.04% BAC = Driver license consequences For Every Driver Under 21 Years Old: 0.02% BAC = lllegal Act

e $200 driver license reinstatement fee e Probationary driver license issued

e Enroll, complete, and comply with only after:
A-C-T program e Recommendation by the

e Probationary driver license sentencing judge
with limited driving privilege, Waiting period of up to 90 days

if recommended by the 24/7; alcohol detection device;
sentencing judge DUI court

BOTTOM LINE:

e Driver license suspension for 1 year
e 1 year CDL suspension, no probationary CDL allowed

e |f transporting hazardous materials: a 3 year suspension, no probationary CDL allowed
e $200 driver license reinstatement fee and A-C-T program

» Chemical dependency education and treatment requirements

MCA 61-8-410

» Driver license suspension:
e 90 days: 1stconviction
e 6 months: 2nd conviction
e 1year: 3rd or subsequent conviction
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MCA 61-8-401 | MCA 61-8-406

2nd or subsequent offense 0.04% BAC = Driver license consequences

e Minimum 10 year CDL suspension — could be suspended for life

You’re breaking the law if you drive
and your BAC is 0.08% or more.

BOTTOM LINE: Your livelihood is at risk. BOTTOM LINE: You can be convicted of DUl at any BAC.

Commercial Driver License

Your CDL can be suspended for a serious traffic violation, which is a conviction
for any of the following while operating a commercial motor vehicle (CMV):

Commercial Driver License

How you drive your personal vehicle impacts your CDL.

Driving Record for Life

Your motor vehicle record is a permanent record.

With a few exceptions, traffic convictions stay on your driver record for life.

BOTTOM LINE:

If you commit a major offense while driving a commercial vehicle, or a non-commercial

vehicle, your CDL can be suspended:  ASEelng) U Fla) ey e s

e Reckless driving; improper lane changes; following too closely
e A violation arising in connection with a fatal crash

e Operating a CMV without the proper CDL

e Texting

Year to year and state to state, your driving history stays

e Refusing an alcohol test in Montana or other jurisdiction with you

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs

Driving with a BAC of 0.04% (CMV) or 0.08% (non-CMV)
Leaving the scene of a crash

Using a motor vehicle to commit a felony

MCA 61-8-802
MCA 61-8-803

A Lifetime of Safe Driving
e Learner license
Restricted 1st year driver license
Safe, qualified driving
Recognizing your limits
Driver retirement

» 2 convictions in 3 years = 60 day suspension For a Lifetime of Driving

» 3 convictions in 3 years = 120 day suspension

BOTTOM LINE:

MCA 61-11-101 & 102 | MCA 33-18-210(9)

Safe Driving Matters

Commercial drivers who commit serious traffic

BOTTOM LINE: Your CDL can be suspended, maybe suspended for life. violations can lose their CDL.

If reliable evidence shows that you can no longer drive safely, the rest of us have

CDL hOIders must determine the type of business they operate in a duty to act.

. Bl CDL Holder: Your Medical Examiner’s Certificate (MEC)
and certify that to the Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Based on

self-certification, most drivers who want to get or keep a CDL must provide >
a current medical examiner’s certificate (MEC).

To get or keep a CDL, non-excepted drivers must provide a valid, unexpired MEC to the

-~ non-e Has the time come when you no longer feel safe to drive?
Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

Have you been told that you can no longer drive?
The MVD is required to add information about your MEC (previously referred to as a DOT card) to

Self-certify your type of commercial driving > | _ EC (pr ! _
your Montana driver record and the national Commercial Driver’s License Information System.

If the effects of aging or changing physical abilities affect safe driving, consider

Driver Retirement.

e Slower reaction times
e Effects of medication
e Memory loss

» Montana CDL self-certification categories are:
* Interstate non-excepted: Most commercial driving for interstate commerce is not >

excepted
e MEC Required

e Interstate excepted: If commercial driving is strictly limited to specific excepted
activities in an excepted industry
e No MEC Required

e Intrastate non-excepted: All Montana-Only (intrastate) CDL holders must meet
medical requirements

If you have kept the MVD up to date with all address changes since your CDL was issued, you will
receive notification prior to your MEC expiration. If the MVD doesn’t have your current address,
update your record now.

» Before your MEC expires, FAX a legible copy of your new MEC to the MVD at 406-444-1987.

e Talk to a family member.
e Speak with your health care provider.

e Consider transportation options that meet your
needs and the safety of your community.

e Apply for an ID card if needed to replace your
license as identification.

MCA 61-5-141

. If you don’t submit your current MEC, your interstate
BOTTOM LINE: CDL will be downgraded to a base, CI,ass D license.

MCA 61-5-110 | MCA 61-5-207

Do you know of an unsafe or incapable driver?
» The Recommendation for Re-exam form may be found at: doj.mt.gov/driving

Meet federal regulations by completing these two steps:
2. Submit a valid MEC to the Motor Vehicle Division
Visit doj.mt.gov/driving and go to CDL Medical Certification

1. Self-certify to your type of commercial driving

Click Forms and Manuals — Driver Licensing and scroll down to Form 32-1800.

» Questions? Drivers or concerned persons can email Driver Control: mvd@mt.gov

2013 | Parriera Graphic Design




