In Montana, you are required by law to wear your seat belt while driving or riding in your car. This is just one tool of many to improve safety for all Montana motorists but we need every one to do their part and make the right choice to buckle up. Below are current laws:
Children Under Age 6 or Under 60 Pounds:
Montana law requires that if a child under 6 years of age and weighing less than 60 pounds is a passenger in a motor vehicle that vehicle must be equipped with one child safety restraint for each child in the vehicle and each child must be properly restrained.
Children Over 40 Pounds but Under 4’9" Tall:
Although Montana law only requires child safety seats for children until age 6 and 60 pounds, research has shown that keeping your children in a booster seat until they are 4’9” tall keeps them safer. Small children do not fit snug and secure in an adult seat belt until they are approximately 8 years old and 4’9” tall.
Children under age 13 should always ride in the backseat where it is safest.
Adults in Front or Back Seats:
Each adult in the vehicle is required to wear a seat belt. While you cannot be pulled over solely for violating the seat belt law, you will be fined $20 per unrestrained occupant if you’re pulled over for another traffic violation and seat belts aren’t being worn.
Get information about DUI laws on MDT's Impaired Driving webpage.