
Montana Graduated 
Driver License 

Violation Codes 
 

MCA 61-5-106 and MCA 61-5-131 through 61-5-134 
Applicable to teen drivers under age 18 
Driving with a permit requiring parent supervision or  
first year license 
 

Teen Driving Permit Restrictions 
 

TEP – Traffic Education Permit  
MCA 61-5-106(3)(b)                                     V1032 
Valid only to drive with approved traffic education 
instructor during driver education class 
 

TELL – Traffic Education Learner License  
MCA 61-5-106(2)                                         V1031 
Valid for one year to drive only with traffic education 
instructor, licensed parent or legal guardian 
 
Instruction Permit/Learner License 
 MCA 61-5-106(1)                                       V1030 
Valid for one year to drive only with licensed parent, 
legal guardian or licensed adult driver authorized by  
parent 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

GDL Restricted License –   MCA  61-5-133  
Valid One Year or Until Age 18               V1063 
 

PASSENGERS  
First 6 months - only one unrelated passenger 
Second 6 months- up to three unrelated passengers 
Check Special Restrictions date on back of DL 
 

NIGHT DRIVING  
No driving between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.  
Exceptions to night driving restrictions include 
emergencies, travel to and from school, church or work 
and farm related activities 
 

Seat Belts Required   MCA 61-13-103          V7363 
Each occupant must wear a seat belt           
GDL VIOLATIONS      MCA 61-5-134    V1064  
 

First Penalty – Community Service 
A person convicted under this section shall perform not 
less than 20 hours, or more than 60 hours, of community 
service 
Second Conviction - License Suspension  
Upon receipt of a report of a second or subsequent 
conviction for violation of the restricted license, the teen 
driver's license will be suspended for 6 months  
A probationary driver's license may not be issued 
during the period of suspension GDL 6 Month Requirements      MCA 61-5-132 

 
 

1. 6 months and 50 hours of supervised driving 
experience - 10 hours must be at night 

 

2. No traffic, alcohol or drug violations   
Parent/legal guardian must certify the teen has a six 
month conviction–free record for traffic, alcohol or 
drug violations and has no pending traffic, alcohol or 
drug citations  
 
The GDL Permit Phase will be extended for six 
months or until age 18 if there are any traffic, 
alcohol or drug violations including MIP or 
seatbelt violations. 

Montana Buckle Up Laws - Driver is Cited 
 
All Occupants    MCA 61-13-103   V7363 
Must wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt or child 
restraint   Exemptions: Medical Condition (written statement 
from physician)    All seat belts in use by other occupants 
 

Young Children    MCA 61-9-420   V7361 
Until at least 6 years old AND 60 pounds Children 
must ride in properly used child restraints that are 
appropriate for their height and weight as indicated by 
manufacturer standards.  Find child safety seat information -  
http://buckleup.mt.gov/children 

 



 

                                                                                                                                       
From 2008 through 2010, over 3000 vehicle occupants received fatal or incapacitating (life-changing) injuries.  

                            Of those, over 50% were not wearing a restraint and over 20% were either totally or partially ejected from the vehicle.  
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